Whippet Good: The Best Kept Secret in the Dog World

Wes Cassell
4 min readJan 9, 2020

After sharing my life with a whippet, I’ve come to the realization that this breed may just be the best kept secret among canines. Here’s why.

Photo by Juan Gomez, unsplash.com

I’m here to make a confession. I was never a dog person.

In fact, I had an acute disdain for canines. To me, dogs were an infinite chore. They were smelly, messy, and didn’t belong in the house.

I was adamantly against owning a dog.

Before you label me a monster, let me assure you that I’ve fully converted. Dogs are truly amazing and wonderful companions. But, I could never fully appreciate just how great dogs are until I had to share my house, and my life, with one.

Want to read this story later? Save it in Journal.

Let me tell you, the impact one little ball of fur can have on a family is indescribable.

For years, I resisted the constant and formidable pressure from my wife and son to add a dog to the family. The last thing I wanted was a stinky, flea-ridden mutt running around the house. I also understood that dogs came with a myriad of responsibilities, most of which I just knew would inevitably fall under my umbrella of authority.

Eventually, my resistance became futile.

--

--

Wes Cassell

Husband. Father. Runner. Writer for hire. Am I a hero? I really can’t say. But yes.